Monday Lust List – Retro Lighting inspiration to brighten up your day

vintage-camera-nightlights

Vintage Camera night light 

Welcome back to the Monday Lust list and today it’s all about lighting that can give our homes a welcoming glow and provide a great conversation starter with any guests who may pop in to keep us company on these dark nights.

Maybe it was all of those visits to the lighting department in British Homes Stores with my mum as a child that has given me a slight obsession with all things illuminated.  Even now trips to the fairground leave me dazzled (literally!) and I can’t resist fairy lights either.

I recently came across this adorable kitsch  Derek Fowler vintage 1970s night light.   It seems I am not alone in my love for kooky lighting as this piece has now been sold and is off to a new home.

honeycomb House

However, there are lots of amazing pieces out there that will certainly look great in many a modern vintage home.  Here are just a few of the kitsch!

Vintage light collage

1). 1950’s glamour  2). shell and coral lamp 3). Tiki couples  4). flamingo bases

Another favourite is the re-purposing of items that may just be taking up space and gathering dust in the loft, the conservatory or the downstairs loo! (no?, just me then!). Some stunning ideas here!

Upcycled lamps

1). Coffee can lamp  2). vinyl record lamp 3). striped Thermos flask lamp  4).book lamp 

Finally, here’s the retro wonders.

Orange

1). Erco space age lamp, 2). ceramic and wool lamp  3). Tacman ‘chien’ 1970’s 4).1960s shatterline lamp

So, what would you choose,  the kitsch, the re-purposed ones or some retro fabulousness?

Did you too get dragged to the lighting department of BHS or was that just me?

love, light and laughter

Final signature

 

 

 

 

1 thought on “Monday Lust List – Retro Lighting inspiration to brighten up your day

I would love to hear from you!